Palliative Medicine Unit Earns Silver Beacon Award

April 3, 2024 Meredith Cunningham

The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) recently presented the Palliative Medicine Unit at Covenant Medical Center(CMC) a silver-level Beacon Award for Excellence.

The Beacon Award for Excellence — a significant milestone on the path to exceptional patient care and healthy work environments — recognizes unit caregivers who successfully improve patient outcomes and align practices with AACN’s six Healthy Work Environment Standards. Units that achieve this three-year, three-level award with a gold, silver or bronze designation meet national criteria consistent with the ANCC Magnet Recognition Program®, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and the National Quality Healthcare Award.

The Palliative Medicine Unit at CMC earned its silver award by meeting the following evidence-based Beacon Award for Excellence criteria:

  • Leadership Structures and Systems
  • Appropriate Staffing and Staff Engagement
  • Effective Communication, Knowledge Management and Learning and Development
  • Evidence-Based Practice and Processes
  • Outcome Measurement
Previous Article
Time Capsule Buried at Hope Tower
Time Capsule Buried at Hope Tower

A time capsule was buried at Hope Tower at Covenant Medical Center; to be opened in 2073

Next Article
New Businesses Coming to Covenant Park
New Businesses Coming to Covenant Park